Presidential Medal of Freedom: 2009


President Obama today named 16 recipients of the 2009 Presidential Medal of Freedom. America's highest civilian honor, the Medal of Freedom is awarded to individuals who make an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.




Professor Yunus is one of 5 recipients from the continent of Asia. These include:

Horacio de la Costa- Philippines- 1946
I. M. Pei- Chinese/American- 1993
Mother Theresa- Indian/Albanian- 1985
Aung San Suu Kyi- Myanmar- 2000
Professor Muhammad Yunus- Bangladesh- 2009 tellyseries